National Infrastructure Unit Accessibility Skip to content. Skip to navigation

You are here: Home > National Infrastructure Advisory Board

Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools

National Infrastructure Advisory Board

Page updated 25 Aug 2017

Consisting of members from the private sector and outside central government, the National Infrastructure Advisory Board was established to advise the National Infrastructure Unit and the Minister of Finance.

The Board provides both the Minister and the Unit with advice and perspectives on infrastructure project appraisal, capital asset management issues and the development of the New Zealand Infrastructure Plan. A key role for the Board is to engage with the private sector, local government and other stakeholders.

National Infrastructure Advisory Board Member Profiles

John Rae

John Rae (Chair) is a Chartered Member of the Institute of Directors and a Director or Chairman of a number of NZ companies involved in the infrastructure, energy, waste and investment sectors. He was involved in banking in NZ and London in various treasury and capital market roles for 10 years before returning to NZ in 1991 and undertaking a number of private equity, venture capital and corporate finance transactions in NZ and Australia. For nine years until early 2010 John was Managing Director of Stevenson Group, one of NZ’s largest private companies with more than 600 employees. He was responsible for a major transformation of this almost 100 year old company into a successful, diversified investment group with significant interests in construction materials, quarrying, mining, agriculture, engineering and property. John is currently Chairman of the New Zealand Council for Infrastructure Development.

Margaret Devlin

Margaret Devlin is Chair of WEL Networks, Harrison Grierson Engineering and the Joint Committee for the development of the Waikato Spatial Plan.  She is a director of City Care Ltd and Hamilton International Airport and Chair of the Institute of Directors (Waikato Branch).  Margaret has particular involvement in issues relating to water.

Kathryn Edmonds

Kathryn Edmonds is a Wellington-based former practising barrister and solicitor, and currently holds the position of Environment Commissioner for the Environment Court (first appointed in 2004).  Ms Edmonds previously worked for Opus International Consultants.

Edward Guy

Edward Guy is a civil engineer and founder of Rationale Limited, an infrastructure advisory based in Arrowtown. He has experience across many areas of infrastructure including strategy, finance, asset management, long term planning and change management. Edward’s role has recently become more focused on leadership, particularly around developing good business cases for infrastructure-related investments. His attitude that nothing is too hard, and that a problem shared is a problem solved, has led to a strong culture of successful collaboration within his own team as well as within the public and private sector.

Carl Hansen

Carl Hansen has been Chief Executive of the Electricity Authority since it was established in November 2010. Carl has been involved in the evolution of the New Zealand electricity market as a senior executive and director, independent adviser and economist.  He is Wellington based and previously had roles with M-Co and the law and Economics Group as well as a wide range of policy development and operations roles at the New Zealand Treasury and Reserve Bank.

Geoff Hunt

Geoff Hunt has been the CEO of Hawkins Group since 2013 and has extensive commercial experience in the telecommunications, electricity transmission and generation sectors. Geoff is Auckland-based and has led a number of telecommunications infrastructure and electricity maintenance and construction companies through substantial change programmes. Geoff has a Masters in Engineering from the University of Canterbury. A respected leader across the infrastructure sector, Geoff is also a distinguished fellow of the Institution of Professional Engineers New Zealand (IPENZ).

Fiona Mules

Fiona Mules, who is Canterbury-based, brings expertise in public sector funding and procurement, especially in relation to large-scale infrastructure and the delivery of public-private partnerships. Fiona previously led the Treasury’s Public-Private Partnership team. As a consultant, Fiona has provided commercial and financial advice to various government agencies, with much of her focus being on the procurement of infrastructure following the Canterbury earthquakes. Fiona also previously worked in the investment banking and corporate finance sector.

Previous Board members include Lindsay Crossen (2009-2016), Matthew Birch (2013-2016), Dr Terence Heiler (2009-2015), Dr Rod Carr (2009-2014), Alex Sundakov (2009-2013), Dr Arthur Grimes (2009-2011), Sir Ron Carter (2009-2010) and Rob McLeod (2009-2010).

Page top